Happily explore the options

I’ve decided to take a little break from reviewing books on decision making. The three I’ve already looked at were the main ones I wanted to read. The first was recommended to me by my uncle after I made a big decision (which I’ll explain in a few posts time), and the second and third had good reviews on Amazon and covered contrasting ideas. I recently came across a blog called Undecided, and found that the authors had written a book, so I now plan to read this and review it in my next post.

I’ve also recently come across some interesting blog posts on the phenomenon that is ‘the quarter life crisis’. (See posts by mundaneadventurer, writergirldiary and davidlindskoog, and there are many many more out there!). I for one definitely think it exists, and it’s an interesting concept. Young people have so much more choice now than they would have had in the past, and this makes it increasingly difficult to make career and life choices that they are content with.

We’re always being told to ‘aim high’ and ‘follow the dream’, but can this lead to discontentment? How do you work out what your dream is?! And how do you balance idealism with realism? I’m an idealist and an optimist at heart, and I believe you’ve got to be to achieve anything great, after all, Whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re probably right – Henry Ford. But aren’t happiness and contentment great goals too? I think the key to this is in the quote There is no way to happiness, happiness is the way – Thich Nhat Hanh. Finding a way to be content and go with the flow while still exploring your options and holding on to your dreams has to be the best solution. Though I also know that I need to remember that there is no perfect option.

I always think that if I knew where it was I was aiming for, what the ultimate goal was that I wanted to reach, then getting there would be no problem. It’s feeling so unsure about what I want to do that’s the issue.

4 comments on “Happily explore the options

  1. Interesting thoughts! I think you’re definitely right – this whole idea of a quarter life crisis is pretty legitimate. In my experience working with students, it seems pretty tied to the issue of career direction, as well.

    The trick is to be able to take actions in the face of indecision. There are some wonderful thinkers out there in the world of career development who believe that unpredictability, change, and unexpected events are actually the cornerstones of successful career development – that one’s ability to adapt to change and live happily with undecidedness (open-mindedness) is ultimately what’s most important, not having a solid career plan or goal in the first place.

    Speaking of books – there’s some great ones out there on the issue. Try Katherine Brooks’ “You Majored In What?” to start out with. There’s also John Krumboltz’s book “Luck Is No Accident: Making the Most of Happenstance In Your Life and Career”

    All the best!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. I think you’re definitely right that being able to adapt to change and live with undecidedness is key – there’s too much pressure to have a career plan and I think I’m trying to have too much control over my career path. Those books look interesting, thanks for the suggestions!

  2. I think you’ve pretty much got it on the head – since I posted Quarter Life Crisis I became adamant that I wanted to be a teacher but then woke up one morning and realised actually I didn’t what I wanted was an easy get out and some stability. I’ve since ditched that idea and I’m just gonna go with it and ride it out – life is not supposed to be easy and stable, or it would just boring. Thanks for the mention and for sharing your thoughts, I concur completely

    • I can definitely relate to sometimes thinking about just choosing a standard job for an easy life and the stability. Though accepting uncertainty and trying out different things definitely seems like the best way to go. Thanks for your comment and the mention on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

