What do you want to be when you grow up?

cans and plansAbout a week ago I posted ‘Dream BIG’, so I’ve decided to take my own advice. When I was younger my dream was to become a children’s book illustrator – I should probably get back to drawing for there to be any chance of that happening! Here are my top 5 dream careers (in no particular order):

1. Science journalist

Always learning about new and interesting topics, getting to speak to and interview scientists about their work and then producing finished articles to be published. The down side? I’m a bit of a perfectionist and take criticism to heart.

2. Helicopter pilot

I very much enjoyed having a few gliding lessons and taking a ride in a hot air balloon – I think it’s the sense of perspective and beauty of being up so high. You could give people great experiences or work for the air ambulance service doing something really amazing. Unfortunately learning to fly a helicopter is extremely expensive and there aren’t many jobs around.

3. English as a foreign language teacher

Creative lesson planning, challenge and variety. You get to work with people and help them to learn something that could be really useful to them. The opportunity to travel is obviously also appealing, even if the thought of living and working abroad is a little scary.

4. Artist (of some description)

Who wouldn’t want their painting/photograph/installation on show in a gallery? I love seeing other peoples’ art and would definitely be proud if something I’d created was on display. But creative career paths are always difficult – you need both real talent and a lot of commitment.

5. Entrepreneur

Lie-ins, being your own boss, sense of freedom and control, ability to combine your interests, choose who you work with, when you work, where you work etc. etc. Though you are 100% responsible for your own income, and you need some sort of idea, and a lot of determination and motivation, to make things happen.

Well we’ve all got to have our dreams, haven’t we!

What are your dream jobs? Do you think you would enjoy them in reality?

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

This TED talk explains in very blunt terms why most people will never have that great career… unless they get rid of the excuses.

And, on a lighter note, I’ve just come across this blog which is also pretty inspiring.

7 comments on “What do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. Mira says:

    Well, since you asked, I dream of writing online about things I’m passionate about and making money with it. It’s going to take me a few years to get where I want with this, but I got started :). It’s not easy though.

  2. I find it so interesting that at the end of each dream career you immediately get realistic and shoot it down. You definitely have strong critical thinking skills! :) But why not just let yourself dream – truly dream – without the limitations at first? We hit the limitations of any career soon enough, but if you’ve let the dream get big enough and real enough to begin with, then the limitations seem manageable. Just a thought…?

    • A great thought. I guess I’m just so used to comparing the pros and cons of everything that it seems natural to consider the limitations and reasons why I’m not seriously pursuing these things. I definitely struggle with that balance between idealism and realism. I love the idea that if you let the dream get big enough and real enough then the limitations seem manageable – maybe I need to give my dreams a little more space to grow!

      • You’ve inspired me to write a post about this in the near future. This is something I struggle with ALL the time myself. We’re trained well to think “pro/con” but that can be our undoing. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. […] began thinking about this when reading sweetlyindecisive’s recent post What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up? She did a nice job identifying and laying out her five dream careers. What struck me, though, was […]

  4. […] began thinking about this when reading sweetlyindecisive’s recent post What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up? She did a nice job identifying and laying out her five dream careers. What struck me, though, was […]

Leave a Reply

