When it’s time to leave

chickencrappyjobI’m leaving my job. I’ve set the date, written my resignation letter and stopped worrying about anything anyone mentions that’s happening next year.

Katie over at Ask the Young Professional inspired me to write this post by her response to my comment on 3 signs it’s time for a new job. I completely agree with Katie’s 3 signs it’s time for a new job, though I have a few more reasons why I know it’s time for me to move on, namely boredom (I guess this fits in with Katie’s first point about not being challenged), colleagues I just don’t click with and, very importantly, I feel completely inauthentic – the job has no meaning for me and, quite frankly, life’s too short.

So my decision to leave wasn’t at all difficult. I’d have left a good few weeks ago, when I came to this realisation, if it wasn’t for 3 logical reasons: a) It would look bad on my CV b) It would annoy my boss and c) As much as I hate it, it is giving me the time, space and income to work out my next step. The only one of those reasons that my authentic self remotely agrees with is c, so I’m struggling everyday, but part of me knows it has to be done.

I’ll be out of there by Christmas, for a fresh start in the New Year. The challenge now is to make sure I have the right next step lined up. But I believe that sometimes you just have to make that jump and take that risk. I’m certain that leaving is the right choice – I have no doubts about that. But what to do and where to go next? Well I’m still working on that one, with 4 months to get it sorted. That’s ages right? And anyway, I like a challenge.

Sometimes the logical decision is tough to deal with day-to-day. Maybe I’d have been one of those kids who ate their marshmallow as soon as the psychologist left the room during that delayed gratification experiment. Then again there’s a massive difference between holding back from a good experience (eating a marshmallow) and coping with a bad experience (my job). It is going to be worth it. I’m going to make sure of that.

6 comments on “When it’s time to leave

  1. This is great! I’m glad you decided to write a post in respond to my post. :) I would love to work with you on creating an interview post where, if you don’t mind, I would ask you questions about the steps of the resignation process. I sent you a quick email last night. Let me know what you think!

  2. Reading you post I can almost see my reflection in it. When jobs lose their challenge they also lose their appeal. Then you add people into the mix and that causes further discontent. Good Luck with what you decide to do…unfortunately at this stage, with a mortgage to pay, I cannot just quit without a solid back up plan in place – but that is definitely something I am working on.

    • Sounds like you’re in a similar situation – really hope you can work things out so you can move on to something better soon :) I do appreciate how lucky I am having so few ties to stop me from just upping and leaving.

  3. QTRlifer says:

    Best of luck to you! I know that when I realized I wanted to leave my job and started looking at others, the toughest part was realizing none of the roles in my field were really exciting me. I made a change now and am about to start grad school for a new field, and I’m so excited. Even though my budget is now much smaller, it’s a short term struggle, hopefully, for a much better reward.

    • Thanks! That’s completely where I’m at – I wrote a post a few weeks ago about the fact that I’ve found myself applying for jobs I don’t even want. It’s great that you’ve worked out what you really do want to be doing, going back to grad school is a big and exciting change, hope it all goes well!

Leave a Reply

